Environment

THE COVID19 PANDEMIC

A medical, economic and social crisis on a global scale that most people did not consider possible . But it is also the result of a profound ecological crisis that we have been in for decades. Because if we destroy habitats and thus decimate biodiversity, we endanger ourselves. Not only indirectly and in the long term, by losing potential medicinal remedies through the destruction of rainforests or by making the whole country uninhabitable by heating the earth, but also very specifically and immediately.

COVID19 is certainly no accident. It was only a matter of time before other dangerous viruses passed from wild animals to humans. Many years ago, virologists warned that coronaviruses are transmitted from bats to humans and can cause pandemics. So-called “zoonoses” are infectious diseases that can be transmitted naturally from vertebrates to humans and vice versa. The outbreaks of human infectious diseases are increasing.

"The problem is not the wild animals, but our close contact with the animals, which makes it possible for diseases to spread from animals to humans," said WWF species protection expert Arnulf Köhncke. The corona pandemic is a consequence of human actions, a consequence of our destruction of nature and our exploitative handling of the living beings of this planet.

SOME NUMBERS HERE

At least 7,000 game species worldwide are affected by poaching and illegal trade

Worldwide, 30 football fields of rainforest are disappearing every minute.

Man has already destroyed almost half of the forest area that once existed on earth

60% of all infectious diseases are zoonoses and 72% of them come from wild animals.

From a western point of view, it seems easy to point at countries that do not want to or cannot stop poaching and illegal trade in species. But we in Germany also participate in the destruction of habitats by consuming too much meat, having to be cut down for the rainforest, or by mining fossil fuels and destroying huge areas. If we continue like this, the next epidemic is only a matter of time, says Inger Andersen, director of the UN environmental program. We should also be aware that the costs and consequences of a pandemic as we are now experiencing far exceed the costs of preventing and preventing it. Intact ecosystems and healthy wildlife would protect us.

As long as this natural protection is not available, mankind needs protective equipment to reduce the risk of transmission.

In the event of a worldwide epidemic (= pandemic), an unimaginable amount of protective equipment is required, including also protective masks. During production, it is important and crucial that sustainable reusable masks can be produced locally in Germany. We set ourselves this task in record time.

COVID19 has shown how dependent the world is on China. Large quantities of disposable masks of various quality have been imported and prices have exploded. Hardly any country has its own functioning infrastructure to date to be able to produce the masks for its own country itself. The oceans and the environment are already being heavily polluted by the mass delivery of disposable masks.

With the new, reusable TPE Protect mask , there is finally a sustainable and high-quality solution "made in Germany". Only the small filter pads have to be changed with our concept. In the long term, developments with partners are aimed at making the filter pad even biodegradable.

Thanks WWF!

At this point, we would like to thank the WWF , which is strongly committed to the protection of species and is thus specifically addressing the root of the problem. We ask for WWF support to preserve biodiversity - for animals, humanity, future generations and our planet!

Copyrights WWF photos (from left to right)

© Cat Holloway/WWF, © Richard Barrett/WWF-UK

Close (Esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is currently empty.
Start shopping
Language
DE
Open drop down

Umwelt

DIE COVID19-PANDEMIE

Eine für die meisten Menschen nicht für möglich gehaltene medizinische, ökonomische und soziale Krise von globalem Ausmaß. Sie ist aber zugleich die Folge einer tiefgreifenden ökologischen Krise, in der wir uns seit Jahrzehnten befinden. Denn wenn wir Lebensräume zerstören und damit die Artenvielfalt dezimieren, gefährden wir uns selbst. Nicht nur indirekt und auf lange Sicht, indem wir durch die Zerstörung von Regenwäldern potenzielle medizinische Heilmittel verlieren oder durch das Anheizen der Erde ganze Landstriche unbewohnbar machen, sondern auch ganz konkret und unmittelbar.

Dabei ist COVID19 sicher kein Zufall. Es war nur eine Frage der Zeit bis weitere gefährliche Viren von Wildtieren auf Menschen übergehen. Bereits vor vielen Jahren warnten Virologen davor, dass Coronaviren von Fledermäusen auf Menschen übertragen werden und Pandemien auslösen können. Sogenannte „Zoonosen“ sind Infektionskrankheiten, die auf natürliche Weise von Wirbeltieren auf Menschen übertragen werden können und umgekehrt. Die Ausbrüche menschlicher Infektionskrankheiten nehmen zu.

"Das Problem sind nicht die Wildtiere, sondern unser enger Kontakt mit den Tieren, der es möglich macht, dass Krankheiten von Tieren auf den Menschen überspringen", so WWF-Artenschutzexperte Arnulf Köhncke. Die Corona-Pandemie ist eine Folge menschlichen Handelns, eine Folge unserer Naturzerstörung und unseres ausbeuterischen Umgangs mit den Lebewesen dieses Planeten.

EINIGE ZAHLEN HIERZU

Mindestens 7.000 Wildarten weltweit sind von Wilderei und illegalem Handel betroffen

Weltweit verschwinden pro Minute 30 Fußballfelder Regenwald.

Fast die Hälfte der Waldfläche, die einst auf der Erde bestand, hat der Mensch bereits vernichtet

60 % aller Infektionskrankheiten sind Zoonosen und 72 % davon kommen von Wildtieren.

Aus westlicher Sicht scheint es leicht, mit dem Finger auf Länder zu zeigen, die Wilderei und illegalem Artenhandel keinen Einhalt gebieten wollen oder können. Doch auch wir in Deutschland beteiligen uns an der Zerstörung von Lebensräumen, indem wir zu viel Fleisch konsumieren, für das Regenwald abgeholzt werden muss oder indem wir fossile Brennstoffe abbauen und dafür riesige Landstriche zerstören. Wenn wir so weitermachen, ist die nächste Epidemie nur eine Frage der Zeit, meint auch Inger Andersen, Direktorin des UN-Umweltprogramms. Dabei sollten wir uns auch bewusst machen, dass die Kosten und Folgen einer Pandemie, wie wir sie jetzt erleben, die Kosten für ihre Verhinderung und Prävention bei weitem übersteigen. Intakte Ökosysteme und gesunde Wildtiere würden uns schützen.

Solange dieser natürliche Schutz nicht vorhanden ist, braucht die Menschheit Schutzausrüstungen, um das Übertragungs-Risiko zu reduzieren.

Bei einer weltweiten Epidemie (= Pandemie) werden unvorstellbar viele Schutzausrüstungen benötigt, hierzu gehören u.a. auch Schutzmasken. Bei der Herstellung ist es wichtig und ganz entscheidend, dass nachhaltige Mehrweg-Masken lokal in Deutschland produziert werden können. Dieser Aufgabe haben wir uns in Rekordzeit gestellt.

COVID19 hat gezeigt wie abhängig die Welt von China ist. Es wurden große Mengen an Einwegmasken unterschiedlichster Qualität importiert und die Preise sind explodiert. Kaum ein Land hat bislang eine eigene funktionierende Infrastruktur, um selbst den Bedarf an Masken für das eigene Land fertigen zu können. Durch die massenhafte Auslieferung von Einwegmasken werden schon heute die Meere und die Umwelt stark belastet.

Mit der neuen, wiederverwendbaren TPE Protect Maske gibt es nun endlich eine nachhaltige und hochwertige Lösung "made in Germany". Lediglich die kleinen Filterpads müssen bei unserem Konzept gewechselt werden. Langfristig sind Entwicklungen mit Partnern angestrebt das Filterpad sogar biologisch abbaubar umzusetzen.

Danke WWF!

Unser Dank geht an dieser Stelle an den WWF, der sich u.a. stark für den Artenschutz einsetzt und damit ganz konkret an der Wurzel des Problems ansetzt. Wir bitten um Unterstützung des WWF zum Erhalt der Artenvielfalt – für die Tiere, die Menschheit, folgende Generationen und unseren Planeten!

Copyrights WWF Fotos (v.l.n.r.)

© Cat Holloway / WWF, © Richard Barrett / WWF-UK

Schließen (Esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Suchen

Einkaufswagen

Ihr Einkaufswagen ist im Moment leer.
Einkauf beginnen
Language
DE
Open drop down